Today in Indian History
Events for May 13

13-May-1648 Construction of the Red Fort at Dehli was completed.
13-May-1791 Lord Cornwallis retreated back to Madras after the battle of Arikera.
13-May-1857 Sir Ronald Ross, bacteriologist, member of Indian Medical service, Nobel awardee and editor of ‘Science Progress’, was born at Almora, UP.
13-May-1883 Henk JFM Sneevliet, leader RSAP/editor Spartacus (Dutch-Indies), was born.
13-May-1905 Fakruddin Ali Ahmed, the fifth President of India, was born at Delhi.
13-May-1916 Vasudev Mahadev Salgaonkar, great Industrialist, was born.
13-May-1918 Balasarswati, famous dancer of Bharat Natyam, was born.
13-May-1923 Moinul Haque Choudhury, social reformer and politician, was born at Sonabarighat (Assam).
13-May-1946 Sarwate and Banerjee add 249 runs for the 10th wkt stand for Indians v Surrey.
13-May-1949 Maharashtra Granthalay Sangh was established.
13-May-1952 Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru again becomes the Prime Minister of India and forms a new union ministry.
13-May-1953 The first Indian Navy air station INS Garuda was commissioned at Venduruthy, the naval base in Cochin.
13-May-1956 Acharya Vinoba Bhave started the Bhoodan campaign in Tiruvellore.
13-May-1962 Bharat Ratna, India’s highest award, was given to Dr. Rajendra Prasad (1884-1963).
13-May-1962 Dr. Rajendra Prasad (1884-1963) retired from the post of first President.
13-May-1962 Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (1888-1975) became the second President of India. He held this office till May 13, 1967.
13-May-1962 Dr. Zakir Hussain became the Vice President (1962-67).
13-May-1967 Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan (1888-1975) retired from the post of second President.
13-May-1967 Dr. Zakhir Hussain became 3rd President of India. He was the first Muslim President of Indian Union. He held this position till August 24, 1969.
13-May-1971 General Insurance nationalized.
13-May-1991 P. Sudhir Kumar released in exchange for a few Naxals in jail.
13-May-1994 Renowned environmentalist Maurice F. Strong chosen for the Jawaharlal Nehru International Understanding award for 1992.
13-May-1994 Telecom sector opened to private companies under the new national policy announced in Parliament.
13-May-1995 Renowned environmentalist Maurice F. Strong chosen for the Jawaharlal Nehru International Understanding awarded for 1992.
13-May-1996 Lok Sabha election results (534 out of 537) announced, giving BJP (161) the position of the largest single party.
13-May-1996 M. Karunanidhi (DMK) sworn in as Tamil Nadu CM.
13-May-1997 Doordarshan drops plans to enter the direct-to-home (DTH) mode of television transmission.
13-May-1998 India carries out two more nuclear tests at Pokharan in Rajasthan.
13-May-1998 India conducts two more nuclear tests at Pokhran. The US slaps sanctions. The Prime Minister says India will face down sanctions.
13-May-1998 World Bank cancels India donors meet.
13-May-2000 Lara Dutta (21), who said beauty pageants give women a platform to ”voice our choices and opinions” is named Miss Universe 2000 in the Cyprus capital Nicosia.
13-May-2000 The Union Government gives its approval for the creation of the three new states of Jharkhand, Uttaranchal and Chhattisgarh to be carved out of Bihar, Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s