Today In History – 21st April

Today in Indian History
Events for April 21

21-April-1451 Buhlul Khan Lodi, an Afghan and founder of Lodi dynasty, ascends the throne of Delhi and displaced the Alam Shah of Syed dynasty.
21-April-1526 Mughal conqueror Babur Shah (1483-1530) defeats Ibrahim Lodi II, the Lodi Sultan of Delhi, and captures Delhi and the Koh-i-noor diamond, in the First Battle of Panipat. He founded the Mughal dynasty in India (1526-1761), consolidated by his grandson Akbar.
21-April-1659 Chhatrapati Shivaji Maharaj meet Saint Samarth Ramdas Swami.
21-April-1720 Peshwa Balaji Vishwanath passed away and was succeeded by his son Peshwa Baji Rao I. He was a great soldier and General.
21-April-1805 Defitiniv treaty between Anandrao Gaikwad and Britishers.
21-April-1913 Preview show of ‘Raja Harishchandra’ was held on April 21 at Olympia Cinema.
21-April-1938 Muhammad Iqbal, famous Urdu poet, passed away.
21-April-1946 Srinivasaraghavan Venkataraghavan, cricket (Indian off-spinner, Test umpire, ICC referee), was born in Madras. He received Arjun Award (1971).
21-April-1955 Avadi session of the Indian National Congress adopts a socialistic pattern of society for India.
21-April-1975 Farakka Barrage dedicated to nation.
21-April-1990 18 more ministers added in the National Front Ministry.
21-April-1990 The first indigenously built missile cruiser boat, ‘Vibhuti’, was inaugurated and launched.
21-April-1991 Hastmalji Maharaj, Jainbhumi parampujya, passed away.
21-April-1992 RBI eases credit policy, lending rates reduced from 6 to 4; 13\% interest ceiling on deposits.
21-April-1992 UN Secretary-General Boutros Boutros-Ghali visits New Delhi.
21-April-1993 India announces establishing proof in Pakistan’s complicity in Bombay bomb blasts.
21-April-1994 Malayalam sweeps national film awards. Mammootty, Shobhana best actor and actress; T.V. Chandran best director; Buddadeb Das Gupta’s Bengali ‘Charachar’ adjudged best film.
21-April-1995 Medium range ‘Akash’, surface-to-air-missile, flight trial successful.
21-April-1996 Sanjay Thapar of the IAF (leader) becomes first Indian to parachute down to geometric North pole and unfurl the flag.
21-April-1997 Inder Kumar Gujaral sworn as the 12th Prime Minister of India, along with old council of ministers in the H. D. Deve Gowda govt. minus Tamil Maanila Congress Minister and D. P. Yadav of Janata Dal.
21-April-1998 Ashok Kumar, Special Secretary, Union Home Ministry, who headed a Central team to Tamil Nadu to assess the law and order situation, was transferred to the Planning Commission.
21-April-1998 The services of 12 non-railway chairmen of Railway Recruitment Boards are terminated.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s